Tiger Woods can't seem to catch a break. For the third time this year, Woods was assessed a penalty as a result of someone calling in and alerting officials of a possible violation following his round at the BMW Championships on Friday. Woods was given a 2-stroke penalty for an infraction that occurred during the first hole, which is handedly the most questionable penalty call of the decade.
Woods' ball landed in the rough in the midst of trees and other foliage. He moved a large rock out of the way of his ball, which was perfectly fine. He then attempted to move a stick resting in front of his ball which caused the ball to oscillate, so Woods retreated and let the stick remain in its place. There was a camera crew filming the whole sequence which allowed the action to be questioned by a viewer. I suppose that's a downside of being one of the greats, your every move is constantly being watched and/or filmed.
Nobody was aware of any sort of violation at the time it occurred, including other players. Once Woods finished his round, he was halted when attempting to sign his score card. PGA Tour rules official, Slugger White, commented on the matter.
"He knew there was movement there, but he was very adamant that is oscillated and it stayed there. But this video was at the site, and the ball did in fact move."
Do you think the ball moved from its original spot? Watch the video below and see for yourself.